top of page
Search
  • dianedavid5

Day 12: Lordsburg to Silver City (46 miles) March 23

30° this morning at 7:00. We decided to start at 9:00 hoping for a little warm up. That didn’t happen 🥶. I didn't shed any layers today.

Today’s ride was the most challenging so far. Miles 12 to 24 were laborious. At the top was the Continental Divide. The next 20-24 miles were rolling hills, but the hills were steep.

Only 4 riders did the whole ride today. I’m still in the EFI club 🤣.


Made it to Silver City, best know for ties with Billy the Kid, the Gila Cliff Dwellings, and Geronimo, as well as the third largest open pit copper mine in the world. I plan on visiting historical downtown Silver City tomorrow.


I’m sending big thanks to my friends and family who have been commenting, texting, emailing and calling. It means a lot. It’s only been 2 weeks and although I’m surrounded by a great group of women, I also find myself alone with my thoughts while riding. I miss my hubby and Junie 🐶.

Rest day tomorrow 🙂.


Here are a few pictures from today.

Continental Divide 6,355 feet


If you look closely, you can see 2 small lights coming up the road. Those are cyclists 🚴🏻‍♀️ 🚴🏻‍♀️.


Our SAG driver took this picture. That’s me in the yellow jacket. It might not look like we are riding uphill. This was the start of a 10 mile incline.



38 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page