top of page
Search
  • dianedavid5

Day 16: El Paso to Sierra Blanca (85 miles) March 28

Long ride today. We started around 8:00 in the middle of El Paso rush hour. It took awhile, but we finally made it into the countryside, and away from traffic. More pecan orchards, and plowed fields.


My cycling friend got a flat at mile 63. (6 total flats in the group today!) Anyway, I stopped to help her fix her flat. (I’d never leave my wingman!) No shoulder on the road so it was challenging and the sun was hot! We found a sharp shard in the tire. So glad I always carry tweezers in my bag. Fixing a flat is always easier with 2 people.


We are staying at the Sierra Blanca Historic Lodge. Another unique rustic, quirky place. We are the only occupants here tonight. We used the grill for dinner and the outdoor fire pit for s’mores.😋


FYI: Sierra Blanca is an area with no potable underground water. Water is pumped in from an underground pipe line from a neighboring town of Van Horn.


Thats all for now! I’m beat! 🥱😴

Sierra Blanca Historic Lodge

I mean, who wouldn’t want to stay here?!?!🤣




45 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page