top of page
Search
  • dianedavid5

Day 18: Van Horn to Ft. Davis (91 miles) March 30

Today’s ride was the last ride in March. Total miles so far: 1,160. No wonder I’m tired!

Dust storms last night. I thought the winds were too strong this morning but the ride was still on. 30+ mph tailwind, temperature was in the 40s, the first 38 miles were on I-10. I don’t think I pedaled much. At one point the tailwind blew me to 26 mph. Not exactly my comfort zone. I was braking a lot!


The rest of the ride was another story. Off of the interstate the road surface was the Texas version of chip coat. They use 1”-1.5” gravel without sweeping up the excess. The route was mostly uphill and what was a tailwind became a crosswind. At times, we were coasting uphill and pedaling hard downhill.


Most of the riders bumped most of this ride today. No surprise there. The SAG vehicle was always full when I saw it with multiple bikes on the racks. It was a challenging day for the SAG driver. Only 6 of us rode the entire 91 miles.


Tomorrow is a rest day. Not much happening in Ft. Davis. It really is a one horse town. I’m going to clean my bike and do some laundry. There has been very little “down time” on this trip so I really just want to rest!

Don’t look up! Around every corner is another hill! 😩

Getting ready to start on a very windy morning!💨🌬💨🌬

I stand corrected. It’s a 5 horse town. 🐴


28 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page