top of page
Search
  • dianedavid5

Day 23: Bracketville to Camp Wood (48 miles) April 5

It was warm in Fort Clark Springs when we left at 8:00. There was some road construction and we had to watch for traffic. We saw more green trees and several entrances to ranches along this route. The road was mostly flat with rolling hills and very little wind! We even found spots of shade at the SAG stops!


It is starting to get hot and humid. đŸ„” I’m drinking more water between SAG stops. I drink 24 ounces per hour, I carry (2) 24 oz water bottles. Tomorrow’s ride has 3 tough climbs (see map sheet below) and with the heat, I’ll start hydrating tonight.

A quick note about daily map meetings. Usually we have them after dinner, but sometimes in the morning. The maps are printed from Ride with GPS. Additional information includes where SAG stops will be, points of interest, places to eat and restrooms (not many!). Riders who plan to bump are also identified at map meetings to plan for transport. There will be several bumps tomorrow for those who struggle with hills.


We all ride with computers. I use a Garmin where I can download the route, so I don’t need to look at written directions. My Garmin also alerts me to weather events and road hazards. I can also see phone calls and text messages. It is synced to my phone and my phone is synced to my watch. I don’t respond to calls or texts but it is nice to know about weather and road conditions. Ok, enough about that.


At mile 44, we stopped to take a dip in the Nueces River. That was refreshing. Tonight we are staying at the newly renovated Cowboy motel. It’s much nicer that the barracks where we stayed last night!


Tomorrow we head north and winds are predicted 20-24 mph from the north. đŸ˜”â€đŸ’«

Morning map meeting

Nice rolling hills, chip coat, it’s rough but I’m getting used to it đŸ€·â€â™€ïž

Stopped for a dip in the Nueces River!

Ginnie and Diane B. coming up the road. The 3 of us ride together on most days.

Directions from Ride with GPS, map for tomorrow‘s ride đŸšŽđŸ»â€â™€ïž. Tough climbs and steep descents. 😳

46 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page