top of page
Search
  • dianedavid5

Day 24: Camp Wood to Vanderpool (37 miles) April 6

Everything is bigger in Texas. Including the hills! The headwinds and the steep climbs made for another challenging ride today. The views were spectacular and the rolling hills were fun! 🎢


Most riders tapped out at mile 4. (If you tap the top of your helmet when the SAG vehicle passes, they will stop. They keep going if you give thumbs up.) On previous rides, there were times when the wind was so strong I wasn’t comfortable taking my hand off the handlebar. I could only nod my head. One time the SAG vehicle passed me and someone yelled out the window. The wind was too strong to understand what was said. 🤷‍♀️

The first tough climb started at mile 8 and the first SAG stop was at 11.5. I wasn’t feeling this ride today. The wind really takes a toll on me. I feel like I’ve been fighting it every day.

Fast forward: Only 5 of us completed today’s ride. We stayed together in a peloton for safety and visibility. There was little traffic, no shoulder, the usual Texas chip coat road surface and several switch backs with blind curves. I stopped to take a few pictures. It was very hard to get moving again.

We were given a round of applause by the others at the Fox Fire Cabins, our home for the night. Let’s hear it for the girls! 👏🏻 🤣🤣


“Lost Maples" is the name of a state park a few miles up the road. It got its name when a landslide dropped a forest of maple trees into the region. Maples are not native to the area, but somehow these maples adapted to the hot dry environment, and are thriving today. The park is one place you can go in Texas if you want to see fall colors.


Tomorrow, we reach the half way point in miles. 1,562 miles. Very surreal.

Rolling hills of Texas 🎢

Riding uphill climb #2

Steep descent

My cabin at Fire Fox Cabins

Hummingbirds! 🐦







39 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page