top of page
Search
  • dianedavid5

Day 31: Cleveland to Lumberton (40 miles)

Before I went to sleep last night, I noticed my front tire was flat 😩. I found a piece of glass stuck in my tire. I was thankful I spotted it the night before the ride and I was in the comfort of my hotel room where I could fix it. I had everything I needed and I avoided scrambling to fix it in the morning. And, fixing a flat along roads with traffic and no shoulder would have been dreadful.

Anyway, today’s route would have been 64 miles. There was a mandatory shuttle for everyone for the first 24 miles. The road we shuttled over was under construction. Large sections were torn up, concrete barriers were in the middle of the road, construction vehicles moving about, orange cones indicating one lane traffic and there was no shoulder. Poor visibility was also a factor.

There was light rain all day today, moderate at times. This was the first rainy day we’ve had so I won’t complain. I‘ve ridden in rain before but today was the first time experiencing large tractor trailers racing by with all the dirt and grime splashed on me from their tires.

Having skipped the busy shoulderless road, we spent 30 miles on a not-so-busy shoulderless road. We had instructions to get off the road immediately when big trucks approached from behind. If a large vehicle didn't have room to pass, we were not to trust that they (or vehicles stuck behind them) would wait patiently for a safe opportunity. We had to pull off the road several times.

At the SAG stop, a log trucker chatted with our SAG driver. He said that bicycles have no place on the not-so-busy road, and there were alternate safer routes with ample shoulders. Hopefully, someone will take that information to the Adventure Cycling Association (ACA), the planners of the Southern Tier Route.

*One thing about log trucks, they leave a piney fresh scent behind when they pass. 🙂


When I got to the hotel, I was able to wash all the mud and grease off of my jacket, socks, gloves, helmet and sleeves. (I miss my washing machine!) 🤣 One of the first items I bought in San Diego was a small bottle of Dawn. So glad I did. It has saved several of the few clothes I packed.


Tomorrow at mile 57.8, we will be in Louisiana! Farewell Lone Star State! I thought it would never end. 👋🏻


Final note: I’m getting tired of hotel breakfasts but, each morning, I somehow find something to fuel me before a ride. You can imagine my reaction when Best Western offered ho-hos for breakfast. 🤦‍♀️

I can’t even 🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️




47 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page