top of page
Search
  • dianedavid5

Day 35: St Francisville ➡️ Baton Rouge ➡️ Gonzales (66 miles) April 20

Today was eventful. We had breakfast at the Butler-Greenwood Bed & Breakfast and then a later than usual start at 9:00.


At mile 10, while riding with my usual 2 ladies, on US 61, a tractor trailer hit a huge stick in the road and it flew into Ginnie’s front wheel. It happened so quickly, and fortunately no one was hurt. I was right behind her. I’m not sure what I saw but I remember hearing it hit. She stopped immediately. It broke 5 spokes and bent a few others. It is frightening how road debris can go airborne so unexpectedly. We notified the SAG driver and Ginnie was able to get picked up. Ginnie packed spare spokes with her, and the bike shop was able to repair her wheel. Unfortunately, she missed the rest of the ride.


At mile 18, the other lady I ride with had a back tire flat. Same busy highway. We were unable to find a safe spot to work so we managed on the shoulder. I was not comfortable working there. Large trucks speeding by. It was so noisy with fast moving traffic, we had to shout to hear each other. We found a metal shard lodged in her tire. After putting in a new tube, we discovered the valve stem was bent so it wouldn’t seal to hold air. I gave her one of my spare tubes. Just another reason why I think riding with others can be beneficial!


We continued on with the ride, getting closer to Baton Rouge. The road conditions were rough. Let’s just say we passed by the low rent district, several oil refineries (Exxon) and chemical plants. We rode through Baton Rouge to find the levee bike path which passes by LSU campus. Our 2nd SAG stop was there on campus, by Tiger stadium.


The last 25 miles had a 20 mph headwind. I’m not sure what I dislike more, hills or headwinds, but I’m thinking headwinds. Hills eventually go away or at least lead to a downhill. Headwinds are relentless and never stop. Tonight, one of the riders asked if we would ever get a tailwind. I’m hoping maybe by St Augustine!


Tomorrow, on to New Orleans!

Ouch!


USS KIDD in Baton Rouge


Bike Path


Mississippi River Boat

Busted flat in Baton Rouge, waitin' for a train…😉(I couldn’t resist!)


37 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page