top of page
Search
  • dianedavid5

Rest Day #8 April 25

Today was a leisure day on little Dauphin Island. Some ladies went to the beach, some to the pool, some walked to the bird sanctuary and some explored by bike. Cathy and I did the latter.

There is an Aquarium on the island, near the ferry. We didn’t go in but it looked nice. Dauphin Island is also home to Fort Gaines.

Exhibits include the huge anchor from USS Hartford, Admiral David Farragut's flagship on which he gave his world-famous command, "Damn the torpedoes – full speed ahead!" The fort also has the original cannons used in the battle.


There are 2 places on the island where souvenirs can be purchased. Cathy explored both, and, yes, the next stop was the post office.

We had lunch at the Pirates Bar and Grill Golf Club. 🏴‍☠️ The other 2 restaurants on the island are closed on Mondays. The locals say that will change after Memorial Day.

Our condo has a full size washer and dryer. I had tears of joy!! I washed almost every piece of clothing I packed whether it needed it or not!😂 I’ve used one washing machine on this trip. All my other laundering has been in the sink or bath tub. Thankfully, all my cycling clothes are moisture wicking material and dry quickly. On occasion, I’ve used a hair dryer to dry things but not all of our hotel accommodations included a functioning hair dryer. Ok, time to move on.


Tomorrow we will take the ferry to Fort Morgan. It’s about a 40 minute ride. Then, drum roll please, by mile 40 we should see the welcome sign for FLORIDA!! 🌴☀️😎


8 more riding days. I’m counting. Endorphins will be on overload! 🚴🏻‍♀️🚴🏻‍♀️🚴🏻‍♀️



Walkway to beach


Pirates bar and grill 🏴‍☠️


😌😌😌😌 No caption needed


😌😌😌♥️♥️♥️

27 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page